Shift of power at Stone Town Council


Stone Town Council is back under an Independent majority following a local by-election.

Stone Independent candidate Mr.Ian Fordham won the Stonefield and Christchurch ward seat after the by-election on Thursday 15th September.

The seat on Stone Town Council was made available as Conservative Cllr. Lynne Bakker-Collier left the town council earlier in the year.

With 585 votes cast, and a turnout of 14.09 per cent, the results were

Mr.Ian Fordham (Stone Independent) 291 votes

Trevor Mardling (Conservative) 219 votes

Pat Conlong (Labour) 75 votes.

Before the by-election took place the Conservatives and Stone Independents both had nine representatives on the council, but Cllr. Fordham’s election gives Stone Independents the control again.